Thanks for logging in.

You can now click/tap WATCH to start the live stream.

Thanks for logging in.

You can now click/tap LISTEN to start the live stream.

Thanks for logging in.

You can now click/tap LATEST NEWS to start the live stream.

on air now

Create a 2GB account today!

You can now log in once to listen live, watch live, join competitions, enjoy exclusive 2GB content and other benefits.

Joining is free and easy.

You will soon need to register to keep streaming 2GB online. Register an account or skip for now to do it later.


New energy minister ‘bullseye’ for Morrison’s ministry

Alan Jones
Article image for New energy minister ‘bullseye’ for Morrison’s ministry

Scott Morrison has revealed his ministry, appointing Liberal MP Angus Taylor the portfolio of Minister for Energy as Josh Frydenberg moves to Treasurer.

Mr Taylor was previously Minister for Law Enforcement and Cyber Security.

Alan Jones says the Prime Minister has scored a “bullseye” with the “strong” decision.

He says the new Minister for Energy is “key” to bringing down energy prices, “the biggest crisis we’ve faced since Federation”.

Turnbull’s energy policy was was about “ignoring cheap coal-fired power” and abusing “erratic and unreliable renewable energy,” says Alan.

“We’re the laughing stock of the world.

“No one could believe we have the greatest energy resources and the dearest electricity prices.”

Alan says the party must do two things to win government; change leaders and change policy.

“Angus Taylor’s gone to energy, that is a move towards changing policy.”

Click PLAY below to hear Alan’s comments in full

In the new ministry, Marise Payne will take over as Foreign Affairs Minister after 20-year Coalition veteran Julie Bishop announced her resignation from the role.

The Prime Minister’s new ministry will also see Peter Dutton return to Home Affairs and Melissa Price take on the Environment portfolio.

See Prime Minister Scott Morrison’s first ministry below:

  • Michael McCormack: Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Infrastructure and Transport
  • Marise Payne: Minister for Foreign Affairs
  • Simon Birmingham: Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment
  • Mathias Cormann: Minister for Finance, Special Minister of State, Leader of the Government in the Senate
  • Josh Frydenberg; Treasurer
  • Kelly O’Dwyer: Minister for Women, Minister for Jobs and Industrial Relations
  • Christopher Pyne: Minister for Defence
  • Steve Ciobo: Minister for Defence Industry
  • Darren Chester: Minister for Veterans’ Affairs, Minister for Defence Personnel, Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Centenary of ANZAC
  • Christian Porter: Attorney-General
  • Peter Dutton: Minister for Home Affairs
  • David Coleman: Minister for Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs
  • Michaelia Cash: Minister for Small Business, Skills and Vocational Education
  • Matthew Canavan: Minister for Resources and Northern Australia
  • Mitch Fifield: Minister for Communications, Minister for the Arts
  • Greg Hunt: Minister for Health
  • Bridget McKenzie: Minister for Rural Health, Minister for Sport, Minister for Regional Communications
  • Dan Tehan: Minister for Education and Training
  • Michael Keenan: Minister for Human Services, Minister for Digital Transformation
  • Paul Fletcher: Minister for Families and Social Services
  • Melissa Price: Minister for the Environment
  • Angus Taylor: Minister for Energy
  • David Littleproud: Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources
  • Nigel Scullion: Minister for Indigenous Affairs
  • David Coleman: Minister for Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs
  • Alan Tudge: Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population
Alan Jones